When I was 16 years old I got my first cell phone. It was this Nokia, and I thought it was the greatest thing in the world. I loved that you could have a special ringtone, and play games on it. I remember I was one of the first of my friends to get a cell phone, and I thought it was amazing. I never had a pager so this was my first piece of technology.

My parents decided to get this phone for me since I had just started driving and they wanted to make sure I was safe. Shortly after all of my friends began to get cell phones too. I remember that many of us had this same cell phone. You could go to the mall and buy different cases for this phone and everything, it was the best phone in the world.

Not to long after new phones began to emerge into the world.  I remember one of  my friends got the first color camera phone, and the rest of us were jealous at what the phone could do. Then came the phones that could do text messaging. I remember being hooked on it as soon as it came out. I could talk to friends even when I couldn’t talk on the phone with them, of course at that time there were no smart phones and you had to use the dial pad to type in the letters.

Then came the RAZOR. I never owned one myself, but many of my friends had them and loved them.

For a few years I stuck with the simple camera phone, until Apple came out with the IPhone. I remember I was amazed by the phone and absolutely had to have one. I even broke out of my contract with my cell phone carrier to go to ATT so that I could get one.

My IPhone fever didn’t last very long though. I owned the first generation IPhone, and I wasn’t too happy with the way service issues had to be resolved. I also hated when my phone would  break  and I lost all of my information on it, since the first generation IPhone didn’t have a SIM card.  After a few short months I gave up on the IPhone and decided to try the Helio Ocean

Once I had used a phone with a full keyboard I couldn’t go back to the standard keypads, and this phone was amazing not only did it have a full keyboard, but it also slid out with a fully functional key pad as well. At the time this phone was very much comparable to the IPhone. I could use the internet and download songs onto my phone. All in all it was a wonderful phone.

About nine months into owning my Helio the company was bought out by Virgin Mobile. When this happened the service of the phone went downhill. I couldn’t make calls at times, and my text messages would not send or receive. So once again I went out and got a new phone.

In the span of about a year I went through three different phones. I had the HTC Touch Pro, the Palm Treo Pro, and the Palm Pre. Each of these phones were very nice and I enjoyed them for the most part, except for the small problems with the OS platforms on which they ran.

In May of this year I finally decided to get on the Android bandwagon, and I went out and bought the Motorola Droid.

Motorola Droid

By far this is the best phone I have ever owned. I love the open source of the phone. On my previous phones I had always wanted to change things with the OS, however on this phone there is nothing I would change. I love the fact that I can change pretty much anything I want on the phone, from the themes to the colors, and even how fast it runs. It is definitely an amazing piece of technology.

I find it amazing that even though it’s only been 10 years since I got my first cell phone that the technology has come so far with them.  I’m excited to see what will come in the next ten years.

